Apple-touch-icon-precomposed

Theory Level 3 - Yearlong

Wednesday, September 21, 2016 @ 7:00 PM (EDT) - Wednesday, June 21, 2017 @ 8:00 PM (EDT)
Ages 10-18 · Co-Ed
DC - Upton Street, NW Campus Sallie Mae Hall 2801 Upton Street, NW WashingtonDC  20008
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 @ 7:00 PM (EDT) - Wednesday, June 21, 2017 @ 8:00 PM (EDT)
Ages 10-18 · Co-Ed
DC - Upton Street, NW Campus Sallie Mae Hall 2801 Upton Street, NW WashingtonDC  20008

Registration is closed

Sign up for this activity is no longer available.

Theory Level 3 - Yearlong

Sep 21 - Jun 22 (Wednesday)

7:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Ages 10-18 · Co-Ed

DC - Upton Street, NW Campus

Starting at

$540.00

Meeting Dates

From Sep 21, 2016 to Jun 21, 2017

Each Wednesday from 07:00 PM to 08:00 PM

Except the following dates:

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2017

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2017

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2017

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2016

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2016

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2017

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2016

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2017

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2016

About This Activity

Description

(Ages 10 - 18)

The study of music theory is important to any comprehensive musical education, as theory introduces students to the basic elements and notational conventions of music. In this interactive class, students study major and minor scales, modes, intervals, chord progressions, cadences, complex rhythms, musical forms, and terminology, and participate in both group singing and dictation activities to hone their sight singing and ear training skills. This class is designed to help students improve music literacy and sight reading skills, and teach students the building blocks of musical grammar to provide the foundation for further explorations in harmony, history, counterpoint, and analysis.

Students who complete the course will be prepared to sit for the Music Development Program's Basic Rudiments Assessment. The Royal Conservatory's Music Development Program provides a recognized standard of musical success through a sequenced course of study. The program provides individual student assessments and allows students to celebrate accomplishment, as they complete the levels of the sequence. Students who earn certificates will have a measurable standard of success that can be placed on college applications and resumes. More information about the Music Development Program can be found at https://www.musicdevelopmentprogram.org/program/overview.

For more information, please contact Evan Meier, Theory Department Chair, at (202) 686-8000 x1598 or emeier@levinemusic.org


Class By Age Group

7 and over

Location

DC - Upton Street, NW Campus

Instructor

Julian Trail

Organizer Info

  • Levine Music

Get ACTIVE on the Go

Active Kids App
Active Kids App

Active Kids App

Parenting just got a little easier with the largest kids activity app on the planet.

Available for iOS | Android

Map & Direction

DC - Upton Street, NW Campus Sallie Mae Hall 2801 Upton Street, NW WashingtonDC  20008
Get Directions

Discuss This Activity